top of page

Kids Cancer Support Group

Updated: Feb 1, 2021

One of our favourite charities to support is Kids Cancer Support Group. A local Perth charity helping families through cancer treatment and beyond. One initiative they run is 'gladiator trolleys'.

Once a week a volunteer will do a round of the oncology ward with a trolley full of toys for the kids stuck in hospital or a trolley full of essentials (shampoo, toothpaste, chocolates etc)


We first found out about KCSG when Piper was first diagnosed. Well not actually properly diagnosed. It was our second night on the ward, I was all alone, only one parent can spend the night, One of the volunteers knocked on my door and introduced himself and the charity, he handed me a flyer & chocolates and said to join the facebook group, it bought me to tears (and anyone that knows me, knows I don't cry). I had a sense of relief like we aren't in this alone, there will be support from people who actually understand. They also make sure the kids get Christmas presents while in hospital, Santa visits a few times with gifts and they make hampers for all the parents.


When Piper passed away our house literally looked like a florist, I wish I took a photo it was unreal. We decided we didn't want more flowers that just go to waste and asked people attending her funeral to instead bring a gift that we can donate in her honour.


We we inundated with toys it was so beautiful to see (Again I wish we took a photo). Our car was literally full to the brim.


This year we did a big collection drive for her anniversary/birthday & Christmas, as well as helping make the hampers with some of the other bereaved families. Our Christmas collection was the biggest yet, two cars full of stuff & over $3000 worth of fuel vouchers.


If you wish to donate to this amazing charity head to Welcome to the Kids Cancer Support Group (kcsg.org.au) & don't forget to add #becauseofpiper.




54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page